Most helpful review
New Reviewer

ADT SECURITY SERVICES TERMINATION FEE SCAM

Update by user Jun 22, 2011

After MONTHS of trying to get a final bill to submit to the utility commission I got a response back from ADT.

They terminated the account in MAY 2011 but I moved out SEPTEMBER 2010 - The games this company plays is amazing.

ADT in my book is about as trustful as...

View full review
View full review
48 comments
#2204096

To our fellow irate consumers, ADT is indeed a corrupt anti-consumer mean spirited company. They just happen to have warm and fuzzy customer friendly advertising.

An initial note...In our case we never used their equipment, never set up their service at any location. Never removed the simple equipment from the original packaging. And certainly never availed ourselves of their service for a single minute. We hav e been trying to return the equipment but they refuse to provide a return authorization label or even just return authorization number...

that is, unless we pay them for three years of service (or perhaps some unreasonable lesser amount...which is still unjustified corporate extortion.) Yet these discourteous robotic representatives spew inaccurate information about all then hours you have expended in an attempt to be treated fairly. Instead they think they are entitled to three years of fees, anything reasonable and truthful that you have to say. Thew customer is always wrong, and they demand their pound off flesh out of your bank account for their inconvenience and for providing NOTHING. Their telephone representatives to a person (that is, each and every one of them) are all programmed.

We already know their "script" after dozens of attempts to reach someone we might get lucky enough to have an intelligent conversation with, but of course, a different person each time. After demanding escalation at the beginning we were actually originally left a voice mail by a "manager" person with a call back number. After dozens of attempts it's become clear the whole dynamic is an effort in futility, that we will never get to that "manager" person again even though our case is documented and supposedly "escalated". Some representatives have told us they never heard of her.

It is virtually impossible to get through to the corporate level to rise above all this mean spirited mindlessness. That's not an accident. They are a public company but a closed fortress. They are running a "predatory cancellation" scheme (that they make a LOT of money off of), and they should be barred from enforcing their agreements (contracts of "adhesion") under anti-consumer "gotcha" ninety page agreements.They think their agreements are by edict from the Bible which entitles their sorrowful reps think they are entitled to threaten and to steadily increase their threats to punish you if you do not comply.

In short, they seek to "dominate" their good faith customers till they get their money for nothing, which is nothing short of disgusting and should be ruled against public policy by regulation or by the courts. They also cloud the issue by doing business as ADT, and the ADT website clearly gives a six month cancellation policy. However, this is "Blue by ADT", but then again they informed us under direct questioning they are the same ADT corporation and not a separate entity. In which case they clearly have conflicting ambiguous policies on their public websites, as though we are supposed to understand there is a convenient "firewall" between ADT and "Blue by ADT".

How are we supposed to know that "Blue" is not ADT, when "Blue" apparently IS ADT. They are very nasty people pre-programmed scripted people on the phone and are doing the company's corrupt bad faith bidding. There appear to be hundreds and likely thousands of similar complaints and reviews in forums and pro-consumer websites throughout the internet. ADT should be publicly admonished by every single State Attorney General Consumer Protection department and barred from trying to extort money from good faith customers using convenient threats and brutal collection tactics and threatening to ruin our credit and using the courts to terrorize consumers.

In short, to "roll over us" as they see fit. Bad, very bad company, and they need to be exposed for their bad faith, deceit and unfair and deceptive practices.

View more comments
ID
#222871 Review #222871 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Passaic, New Jersey
Product
Adt Security System
Loss
$450

A whole set of camera’s and motion sensors were installed and never worked

During COVID I needed an alarm system because my kids were alone and having to homeschool. I called ADT and Vivant for A consultant to come and show what they had. Apparently I got A 3rd party contractor who immediately started installing cameras. The system never...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2256985

Never form a plural with an apostrophe. It is the only rule in the English language with no exceptions.

ID
#4020405 Review #4020405 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Richardson, Texas

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

ADT sneaky three-year contract

Decided to add a video doorbell to my Pusle system. When I was finally able to talk to a sales representative it was arranged to have the doorbell installed and a deposit was given to ADT. The day before the installation an ADT representative called to check on my...
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#2254437

I received an email from ADT and the problem was totally solve by them. The doorbell will be installed with no added contract.

I thank ADT for their swift response and resolution to my problem. Once again I thank ADT and will remain a loyal customer.

View more comments
ID
#3997505 Review #3997505 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Apology

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

The worst customer service

The worst customer service of any company I've had any experience with. Of the 2 year contract period it only worked correctly a few months. Called customer service multiple times and after waiting extended periods had to be walked through the same routines. Once a...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3996557 Review #3996557 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Adt Customer Care

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Terrible customer service. Huge waste of my valuable time. Third attempt and 40 minutes later I got them to send me a new sensor.

Call centers. Almost unintelligible conversations. Long hold times even on a call back. Just horrible experience. Use another service.Use
View full review
1 comment
#2252801

Hello. we are sorry to learn of your experience and we will use this opportunity to improve. Thank you

ID
#3985847 Review #3985847 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Apology

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Terrible customer service.

Update by user Sep 17, 2022

Not

Original review posted by user Sep 17, 2022
I need help with you security. Called got 2 recordings. Left my number and they said call back would be between 20 to 30 minutes. Recording called back and I was to push a number and a customer rep would be there to help. Waited for 20 minutes and Customer rep never came on the phoNe. Cant find email anywhere on their website so I can leave message

User's recommendation: Go with someone else.

View full review
ID
#3971859 Review #3971859 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Adt Security System
Preferred solution
Call to help fix my problem or cancel contract if I have one. Been with them for 3 years.

The worst security company and customer service

I totally agree with you, I purchased a new home and ADT was already in the home. I allowed them to open an account for me and 2 moths in I had a problem. I took the day off from work to have a tech come our. When the Tech didn't show up I called ADT and was told the...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3962363 Review #3962363 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Merrick, New York

Bad Customer Service & Bad Quality Tech

I installed an alarm on a house I rented for 1 yr and was told via ADT I could transfer my alarm equipment to my new home for $99. So when it was time to move ADT said the technology was old and I needed a new system. So after meeting with a few a adt reps in person...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3960249 Review #3960249 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Santa Ana, California

POOR SERVICE, POOR QUALITY, POOR TECHNICIANS

ADT equipment cost an arm and a leg. The technicians come out and half do the job. The technician came to my house and he was watching more television than I was. When he left the cameras are offline and their customer service closes @ 10 p.m. What kind of security service closes at all. What do you do if you need your security company and they are closed. This is scary to me and I want out of the contract and am going to try and figure out how to get out of it.

User's recommendation: Run and run even harder to another security company that will be there for you when you need them.

View full review
ID
#3944338 Review #3944338 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Saint Louis, Missouri

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Canceled ADT within 3 day period. ADT will not refund and cancel contract.

Canceled ADT within 3 day period. ADT will not refund and cancel contract.
Original review updated by user Sep 09, 2022
on 7/11/2022 I added ADT cameras to my existing ADT account. Three days later 07/14/2022 I notices that ADT created a new 24 month account without my authorization. I immediately called ADT and canceled the contract. I canceled the contract within the 3-day cancelation...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3939008 Review #3939008 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lancaster, California
Cons
  • Adt does not honer warranty
Loss
$1254
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

DECEPTIVE BUSINESS PRACTICES

I just got the service on 8/6/22 only to find out a few weeks later not even a month that I had reached some type of limit on video clip. WHO would pay for a service that has limitations if I am trying to have my home surveillance secure 24/7. This was never disclosed...
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#2247764

Sounds like you did not bother reading any of the paperwork before you signed your name, agreeing to the terms. Bad decision on your part.

View more comments
Featured
ID
#3915619 Review #3915619 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Stafford, Texas
Product
Adt Security System
Cons
  • Failure to disclose
Loss
$1200
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

They Won’t Answer So You Can Cancel

I have been on hold for 55 minutes. After first calling and ending up on hold with simply safe and being transferred. It said the wait time was 10 minutes. A little more than 10 minutes in someone answered and then transferred me elsewhere. Where I continued to wait tempted to hang up but I think thats what they want you to do! I want to file a complaint about this practice somewhere!

User's recommendation: Up to you.

View full review
ID
#3905463 Review #3905463 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pompano Beach, Florida
Pros
  • Service works
Cons
  • Very difficult to cancel
Preferred solution
Apology for all customers that they leave on hold for an hour without the option to cancel online or choose a call back instead of holding the line.
New Reviewer

This company makes me feel unsafe

I started with adt a month ago. I have on going problems with the system. They keep waiting my time with service calls and the issues aren't resolved. Just recently I armed my home and returned hours later and learn my system was disarmed. My panal was completely black...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3900143 Review #3900143 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$600
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Misinformation

Called adt to move my service to new property due to relocation. I was told I would receive new equipment at the new address from adt blue and to leave the equipment (still on payment plan) behind for the new homeowner. I was told I would not be charged since I was not...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3880875 Review #3880875 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Utica, Michigan
Loss
$700
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

No customer should be on hold for 25 minutes or more just to schedule an appointment. This totally unacceptable. I will be removing ADT has my home security service. I rate Adt

The glass breaker battery is low. I can not remove the cover to replace the battery. The breaker is in the freaking ceiling.

User's recommendation: Hire more people. Have your employees to be multi taskers. If someone can answer the dam phone, they should be able to schedule an appointment in lieu of referring you to someone to be put on dam hold a entire hour. I decided to hang up.

View full review
1 comment
#2221929

Hello Vivian. we are sorry to lean of your concerns.

So that we may further assist you, could you please ask you to email us a copy of the review along with your full address and telephone number associated with the account to alwaysthere@adt.com. Thank you!

ID
#3803977 Review #3803977 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Clinton, Maryland
Preferred solution
My solution is to find another security business. I have had it with ADT poor customer.
New Reviewer

Paying for poor service

I have been calling ADT for A week now, I can get anyone in the phone, my Alarm is beeping in the Middle of the night , stating someone ins opening the door. We have changed the battery 10 times and the matter is still not resolved. I am looking to change my service asap. I am very disappointed with the lack of unqualified people answering the phone with help. My sleep is interrupted, and I am unable to go back to sleep once I am wake. Never Will not be recommending ADT to anyone.
View full review
ID
#3800369 Review #3800369 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Columbus, Georgia
Preferred solution
Fix the problem.

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article