ADT Reviews

Show reviews that mention
service system contract customer customer service home security alarm phone house
Filter review
New Reviewer
Explore video interviews
Deceptive Practice! For those of you who have or about to have the ADT Pulse System installed, arming it in the “Stay” mode using your smart mobile device app, you do not have security of “No Delay Entry” arming. If you have this system installed, you and your family...
View full review
View full review
6 comments
#2069217

I began services with ADT on 08/19/2019. They were to send me a contract and I never received it.

I later bought a camera for out door security and paid in full at the time of service 09/04/2020. On this installation date no contract or talk of contract was stated. At some point and time (I did not note the date/time) I called requesting to stop service. They offered me a lower rate for a period of four months I agreed to this.

Since then, I have attempted to cancel service they now say I have a contract that goes till 10/26/2023. I requested a copy of this contract and the signature is not mine. I had spoken to Cynthia on 08/31/2021 at 2:33p.m. she stated it would be reviewed and they would complete in 5 – 7 business days.

They sent me a fraud package that I completed to the best of my ability showing the signature is not mine on 09/03/2021. No response came. I called on 09/25/21 spoke to several people who passed me on to Kevin Ramsey who stated ADT requires a 36-month contract from all customers.

Even if this was true the contract I have received is fraudulent for two reasons it is not my signature and the original date of service is incorrect. I have turned this into the attorney general office ADT called me saying I could buy my contract out for $500.00 plus I said that is not my signature not my contract DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM THEY ARE SCAMERS AND FRAUDS

View more comments
Featured
ID
#1575022 Review #1575022 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lakeland, Florida
Service
Adt Pulse Security System Plan
Cons
  • Support
  • That no one will actually fix this
  • Defensive customer service agents
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$1200
Preferred solution
Full refund
Most helpful review
New Reviewer
Update by user Jun 22, 2011

After MONTHS of trying to get a final bill to submit to the utility commission I got a response back from ADT.

They terminated the account in MAY 2011 but I moved out SEPTEMBER 2010 - The games this company plays is amazing.

ADT in my book is about as trustful as...

View full review
View full review
45 comments
#1933703

Hello - We are truly sorry to hear of this and the frustrations you've endured. We'd like to look into this further and assist.

Can you please email a copy of your review/concern, along with the phone number and address associated with the service to AlwaysThere@adt.com? Thank you, Faith

View more comments
ID
#222871 Review #222871 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Passaic, New Jersey
Product
Adt Security System
Loss
$450

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Since August 2, 2021, ADT Billing Department has unethically and unlawfully tried and even successfully taken money from our checking account when the checking account has been deleted as a payment method. On October 2,2021, the ADT billing Department successfully...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2975653 Review #2975653 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bowie, Maryland
Loss
$1550
Preferred solution
Refund of two unlawful deductions.

Mail nightmare

Bought house and did not want ADT. Constantly bombarding with mail monthly and two calls to area rep still has not stopped. No customer email address for complaint.
View full review
ID
#2968342 Review #2968342 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Akron, Ohio

Unauthorized charge on my bank account

I contacted adt for an estimate on a home security system. The salesman asked for my bank account number and was assured it would not be used without my consent and it was a formality. This charge appeared two days before the adt repesentatives came and told me what they could install that day. I will not even rate them.

User's recommendation: Do not use them.

View full review
ID
#2963974 Review #2963974 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Baxley, Georgia

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Services were terrible, when called for help I was referred to you tube to trouble shoot the system problems myself. System (2+ years) was down more than up. When technician did show up three days after requested service, she arrived without equipment that was the...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2955049 Review #2955049 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Everything from billing to service is a nightmare
  • Accounts
Loss
$1407
Preferred solution
Zero erroneous charges and delete my account
New Reviewer
Alarm is beeping at night and will not stop. Keeping me and my family from sleeping through the night. This has happened at least 3 times before, and in every case a defective sensor needed to be replaced (status says low battery, but even after replacing batteries the...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2946712 Review #2946712 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Too expensive
  • Old technolog
  • Poor service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

They are the worst company I have ever delt with. Billing is so screwed up they disconneced service then sent collection notices Cant get anyone on the phone without waiting 45 minutes.

When someone finally does answer they pass you around for another half hour. Then they tell you they cant do anything untill you pay the $ 1800 bill. the bill is $ 36.00 per month. When the CC bill came with an $1800 charge they were told that was incorrect to void it. ADT didn't bill the correct $36 so they say the bill wasn't paid and disconnected the service , then sent it to a collection agency.

User's recommendation: You would be better served leaving your front door wide open before you get involved with these crooks.

View full review
ID
#2935230 Review #2935230 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Franklin, New Jersey
Product
Adt Security System
Cons
  • Suck
Preferred solution
Apology

Tired of getting the run around by A.D.T.

ADT is like a plague that you can't get rid of ! They want to hold you to every letter of the contract, but when they raise your rate for no reason, to them that's not a violation of the contract !!!!! During the Covid Epidemic every business was giving a discount to consumers because of being home bound. NOT ADT !!!!! Now my bill just went up from $58.50 a month to $62.39 for no reason !!!!! When you try to get someone in billing on the phone, expect to spend 20 to 30 minutes for someone to answer !!! I can't wait for my contract to be up !!!

User's recommendation: Stay away from A.D.T.

View full review
ID
#2924765 Review #2924765 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Jose, California
ADT cancelled my service for no reason, sent me a bill for $3,600, charged my credit card for the cancellation and is now completely inept at resolving this issue. I finally spoke to my 7th (NOT exaggerating) person (over the course of 2+ hours and over two days) who...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2912360 Review #2912360 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Refund never send

August 13, I cancel my serviced with ADT base on there window time to be at my home within a four hour window never show up return there camera in the alloted time frame money to be refunded never send have contacted them every seven to ten days no money send. Can you help me they have cause me to lose a job ,be behind on my mortgage and I have stop depend on that money. However I do
View full review
ID
#2896009 Review #2896009 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • System was offline more than online
Loss
$230
Preferred solution
Apology

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I cant even get into it, its so repugnant. Summarized... They will not allow you to cancel , even within the the first 48 hours. Its stunning. These people are amazing. Contract allows 30 days... Not a prayer you will get a human before 72 hours. My contract was past...
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#2079787

I filed cancellation orders 3 times', 1 20 hours.into installation' 2nd next day' no case number' no names were given to me...just empty vague promises. The 3rd time i called to cancel i was left.on hold 65.minutes, then disconnected .

A genuinely shocking and embarrassing situation.

I am humbled by their sociopathic lack of honesty, Nothing left to stay. I am now obliged to a $3,699 over 3 years...payment for a service I am NOT uaing

View more comments
ID
#2882687 Review #2882687 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • National brand
Cons
  • I hate the service
  • Beaware of over charging
  • Everything else
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Question about payment with out me knowing0749749****

I want this money back in my account ASAPyour company is taking unauthorized payments out of my account I want to cancel my subscription as of now
View full review
ID
#2875215 Review #2875215 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$7193
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Turn off alarm

The system will not arm. The symbol of police hat is there and it says Supervision 43 Police # 43 I cannot fix this. Police came and left. But I need help to turn this off. Thanks Claudia Chaperon customer
View full review
ID
#2871742 Review #2871742 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Omaha, Nebraska
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I called today (9/13/2021) to inquire about my bill and the installment charges that I have. I transferred my ADT service from my rental to my new home in August. At the time of transfer the person helping (who was great) told me my new home was already equipped with...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2064660

We're so terribly sorry to learn of this unacceptable experience you've had as a member of the ADT family! We would love to address these issues with you further. If you could please email our team directly at Alwaysthere@***.com with the full address in which the services are located and the account details along with your post for further assistance.

ID
#2867378 Review #2867378 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Sales and installation
Cons
  • Customer service and cancellation policies
  • Customers service rep was rude and did not listen
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Blood Suckers

This company sucks. I canceled my service a year ago, because they just kept calling and calling because they weren't getting paid. I paid them their money, and said: "that's that, I'm done. I'm going to cancel." I canceled their service, or so I thought, and week after week my mailbox was filled with notices from ADT, I was getting phone calls everyday. Today I get a call from a debt collector from them.

User's recommendation: Find another company if you want an alarm system.

View full review
ID
#2858445 Review #2858445 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Cons
  • Poor customer serivce
  • Incessant collection calls
Loss
$375
Preferred solution
Apology, isn't good enough, I want this company to be shamed.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

I have been with ADT since 1994 and have no problems with them

They call if they are not getting info from the system . Problems have been handled quickly . Cameras so so

User's recommendation: Use own discretion.

View full review
ID
#2845948 Review #2845948 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Good support
Cons
  • Camera iffy

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article